About Zenit

Zenit St.Petersburg football club
The Arrow
Founded back in the 1920s in then Leningrad, as part of a Soviet sports club. Transformed into a professional football club in the 1990s.
First president: Vitaliy Mutko (*)
Colors: Blue/White/LightBlue, as adopted by the fans in the last 20-30 years. Historically, the official club color was Electric Blue.
Stadium: Petrovsky (Capacity 21 500).

In Soviet times, Champions of USSR in 1984 (coach Pavel Sadyrin). Also were 3rd in the league in 1980 (bronze medals), a big success at the time (coach Yuriy Morozov). USSR Cup winners 1944.

In new post-Soviet history, the first major success was the Russian Cup in 1999 (coach Anatoliy Davydov).
Russian champions 2007 (coach Dick Advocaat), 2010, and 2011-12 (coach Luciano Spalletti). Russian Cup winners 2010.
UEFA Cup winners 2008, UEFA Super Cup winners 2008.
Zenit is currently sponsored by Gazprom, which is the reason why the club has money to buy good players and hire prominent managers.

(*) Mutko wasn’t formally the first Zenit president but he was the first professional president who did an enormous amount of work to convert Zenit into a real professional football club.

Useful Zenit Links:
FC Zenit Official Site
Zenit Squad 2014-15
Zenit On Soccerway (various info)
A Collection Of Zenit Statistics (in Russian)

Leave a Reply